Bafta, 'Il potere del cane' vince film e regia, 5 premi a 'Dune'

Di Redazione

All'edizione 2022 dei Bafta Awards, i maggiori riconoscimenti cinematografici assegnati ogni anno dalla British Academy of Film and Television, trionfa per il rotto della cuffia Il potere del cane di Jane Campion con le statuette al film e alla regia.

Niente riconoscimenti per i suoi interpreti candidati, così come per la sceneggiatura e le categorie tecniche. Migliori attori sono stati incoronati Will Smith, Joanna Scanlan, Troy Kotsur e Ariana DeBose. Due Bafta a sorpresa per CODA: attore non protagonista e sceneggiatura non originale, Paul Thomas Anderson vince per lo script originale per Licorice Pizza.

Cinque Bafta tecnici per Dune:

Best Film
“Don’t Look Up”
“Licorice Pizza”
** WINNER “The Power of the Dog”

Outstanding British Film
“After Love”
“Ali & Ava”
**WINNER “Belfast”
“Boiling Point”
“Everybody’s Talking About Jamie”
“House of Gucci”
“Last Night in Soho”
“No Time to Die”

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
“After Love,” Aleem Khan (Writer/Director)
“Boiling Point,” James Cummings (Writer), Hester Ruoff (Producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
** WINNER “The Harder They Fall,” Jeymes Samuel (Writer/Director) [also written by Boaz Yakin]
“Keyboard Fantasies,” Posy Dixon (Writer/Director), Liv Proctor (Producer)
“Passing,” Rebecca Hall (Writer/Director)

Film Not in the English Language
** WINNER “Drive My Car”
“The Hand of God”
“Parallel Mothers”
“Petit Maman”
“The Worst Person in the World”

“Becoming Cousteau”
“The Rescue”
** WINNER “Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)”

Animated Film
** WINNER “Encanto”
“The Mitchells vs. the Machines”

“After Love,” Aleem Khan
“Drive My Car,” Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
“Happening,” Audrey Diwan
“Licorice Pizza,” Paul Thomas Anderson
**WINNER “The Power of the Dog,” Jane Campion
“Titane,” Julia Ducournau

Original Screenplay
“Being the Ricardos,” Aaron Sorkin
“Belfast,” Kenneth Branagh
“Don’t Look Up,” Adam McKay
“King Richard,” Zach Baylin
** WINNER “Licorice Pizza,” Paul Thomas Anderson

Adapted Screenplay
** WINNER “CODA,” Siân Heder
“Drive My Car,” Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
“Dune,” Eric Roth, Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve
“The Lost Daughter,” Maggie Gyllenhaal
“The Power of the Dog,” Jane Campion

Leading Actress
Lady Gaga, “House of Gucci”
Alana Haim, “Licorice Pizza”
Emilia Jones, “CODA”
Renate Reinsve, “The Worst Person in the World”
** WINNER Joanna Scanlan, “After Love”
Tessa Thompson, “Passing”

Leading Actor
Adeel Akhtar, “Ali & Ava”
Mahershala Ali, “Swan Song”
Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Power of the Dog”
Leonardo DiCaprio, “Don’t Look Up”
Stephen Graham, “Boiling Point”
** WINNER Will Smith, “King Richard”

Supporting Actress
Caitriona Balfe, “Belfast”
Jessie Buckley, “The Lost Daughter”
** WINNER Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story”
Ann Dowd, “Mass”
Aunjanue Ellis, “King Richard”
Ruth Negga, “Passing”

Supporting Actor
Mike Faist, “West Side Story”
Ciaran Hinds, “Belfast”
**WINNER Troy Kotsur, “CODA”
Woody Norman, “C’mon C’mon”
Jesse Plemons, “The Power of the Dog”
Kodi Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog”

Original Score
“Being the Ricardos,” Daniel Pemberton
“Don’t Look Up,” Nicholas Britell
**WINNER “Dune,” Hans Zimmer
“The French Dispatch,” Alexandre Desplat
“The Power of the Dog,” Jonny Greenwood

“Boiling Point,” Carolyn McLeod
“Dune,” Francine Maisler
“The Hand of God,” Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
“King Richard,” Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman
**WINNER “West Side Story,” Cindy Tolan

**WINNER “Dune,” Greig Fraser
“Nightmare Alley,” Dan Laustsen
“No Time to Die,” Linus Sandgren
“The Power of the Dog,” Ari Wegner
“The Tragedy of Macbeth,” Bruno Delbonnel

“Belfast,” Una Ni Dhonghaile
“Dune,” Joe Walker
“Licorice Pizza,” Andy Jurgensen
** WINNER “No Time to Die,” Tom Cross, Elliot Graham
“Summer of Soul,” Joshua L. Pearson

Production Design
“Cyrano,” Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
** WINNER “Dune,” Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos
“The French Dispatch,” Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo
“Nightmare Alley,” Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
“West Side Story,” Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo

Costume Design
** WINNER “Cruella,” Jenny Beavan
“Cyrano,” Massimo Cantini Parrini
“Dune,” Robert Morgan, Jacqueline West
“The French Dispatch,” Milena Canonero
“Nightmare Alley,” Luis Sequeira

Make Up & Hair
“Cruella,” Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
“Cyrano,” Alessandro Bertolazzi, Sian Miller
“Dune,” Love Larson, Donald Mowat
**WINNER “The Eyes of Tammy Faye,” Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh
“House of Gucci,” Frederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno

** WINNER “Dune,” Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett
“Last Night in Soho,” Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
“No Time to Die,” James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
“A Quiet Place Part II,” Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
“West Side Story,” Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Special Visual Effects
**WINNER “Dune,” Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer
“Free Guy,” Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
“Ghostbusters: Afterlife,” Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
“The Matrix Resurrections,” Tom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, J. D. Schwaim
“No Time to Die,” Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

British Short Animation
“Affairs of the Art”
**WINNER “Do Not Feed the Pigeons”
“Night of the Living Dread”

British Short Film
**WINNER “The Black Cop”
“The Palace”
“Three Meetings of the Extraordinary Committee”

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)
Ariana DeBose
Harris Dickinson
**WINNER Lashana Lynch
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-McPhee

Fonte: The Wrap